Author’s Blog vs. Author’s Social Media

This is 100% my opinion…just an FYI.

How should an author utilize their blog (if they have one) and their social media (geesh…you better be using social media!) when marketing their book(s).

An author’s blog, I think, should be used like a personal (but public for everyone to read) notebook, journal, or diary, a place to express your personal thoughts and opinions. Your author blog may or may not have a theme, like a travel blog in which you share stories about places you’ve visited (book or not book related) or a writing blog in which you post updates about the latest piece of writing you’re working on. Your author blog can be about anything you want it to be about, but remember you’re blog is public and you want to connect with your readers, not offend or scare them off.

Don’t spend too much time marketing your book on your blog. Updated blog entries about how your book is doing is okay, but leave all that book marketing to the social media platforms.

Every author gets different interactions from different social media platforms. Some say pick one and don’t go crazy blowing up everyone’s feed. I agree with the ‘don’t blow up everyone’s feed’ with repeatedly marketing your book every second of every day, but I don’t agree with only picking one social media. I think it’s important to pick them all, or at least the major ones.

The top two social media platforms (again my opinion) would be Facebook and Twitter. From what I’ve noticed, Twitter has been more responsive and engaging than Facebook…but that’s just my book reviewing website. I haven’t even started my author website/blog/social media! I have to say I like the fast pace of Twitter. I like how the posts are mini-commercials for books people have read or books authors and publishing companies are promoting. We all know that marketing options for authors are limited, especially if you’re on a budget. So take advantage of the social media platforms and market your book; just please…please…please…do not post the same message over and over, day after day. Be creative and think outside the box while promoting your book and engaging with your followers!

Pinterest and Instagram are two of the popular social media platforms that can be used for both personal and marketing purposes. Since these platforms are image-based, and there’s only so many photos you can post of your book, then posting pictures of things that interest you as an author or are related to your personal life is acceptable and heightens that reader-author connection.

The oh so popular: YouTube. Being a vlogger is a lot of work. I think it’s more work than maintaining a regular blog, but the concept is the same. I guess this would be another social media platform that borders both personal and marketing purposes. I follow Jenna Moreci, the author of Eve: The Awakening and The Savior’s Champion, and she puts out a weekly YouTube video focused on writing advice for authors. She does often plug her latest book, but it works! I guess if you’re comfortable being in front of the camera and can edit video content…then try vlogging!

Let’s see, I don’t use Google Plus or Linked In, so I can’t say too much about those, but it never hurts to learn more. From what I have read, these two are actively used in marketing and connecting with potential readers.

Okay, I saved these two last platforms (yeah, I’m sure there are others, but my list ends here) because I felt these two are essential when marketing your book and every author should have a Goodreads author account AND an Amazon author page. Answer any questions your readers may have asked and check your reviews often. If people are following you on these sites, then interact with them frequently. You want to stay fresh in their minds and ready for your next book release.

That brings me to my final point. If you get comments on your author blog or social media, best to answer them. Stay current and keep things interesting. Don’t repeat the same information over and over again. This marketing stuff isn’t easy or quick. It takes planning, time, and editing, just like writing a book!

I’d love to hear everyone experiences and opinions about how authors can utilize their blogs and social media to help promote their books!

Keep reading…keep writing…keep moving forward! – Plum Report

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started